What Do the Aged Care Quality Standards Mean for Me?

The Aged Care Quality Standards cover four key areas:

  • Consumer dignity
  • Ongoing assessment and planning
  • Services and support for daily living
  • Organisation service environment

They apply to all organisations, regardless of size, type, or location. The standards also ensure that services meet the needs of consumers and are relevant to their health and wellbeing. They are a guide to quality care for older people and are essential for providing quality aged care.

Consumer dignity and choice

Aged care quality standards promote the rights of consumers to dignity and choice. These standards ensure that consumers receive appropriate care and respect and make informed decisions. They also ensure organisations provide current and accurate information. While the Standards will not address all the challenges consumers face, they highlight some critical issues.

While the term ‘human rights’ is not specifically mentioned in the ACQS, the Charter of Aged Care Rights provides a comprehensive list of consumer rights. These rights apply to consumers of Commonwealth-funded aged care services. In addition to these standards, Australian government-subsidised aged care must meet the requirements set out in the Charter. In order to achieve these standards, providers must consider the rights and interests of individual service users. They must also adhere to timely monitoring and ensure the environment is safe and inclusive.

Ongoing assessment and planning

Ongoing assessment and planning are critical to the quality of care provided to people in aged care settings. In addition to ensuring the provision of quality care, good assessment must be carried out in close collaboration with the participant. The participant’s preferences and needs should be central to the assessment and planning process. 

Services and support for daily living

The aim of services and support for daily living under the Aged-Care Quality Standards is to promote independent living for older people. The services and supports they receive may involve domestic assistance, food, social activities, transport, and recreational services. These services must be safe and meet their needs while optimising health and independence. For example, day respite services must be culturally sensitive and support the consumer’s desire to participate in community life.

Organisational governance is a vital component of the Aged Care Quality Standards. Organisations must have an effective governance system which include a high-quality workforce, and promote safe work practices. The standards also specify that clinical care must be delivered using a clinical governance framework. The standards require organisations to hire highly qualified and experienced staff. This means they must conduct regular assessments of staff’s performance and incorporate this into their governance systems.

Organisation’s service environment

One of the most crucial aspects of providing aged care is the organisation’s service environment. This includes everything from the cleanliness, appearance of the building and equipment for staff and residents. An environment should be hygienic and safe, allowing people to move freely and remain comfortable. If the service environment is not up to standard, it is likely that a person may not feel as comfortable as they would in their own home.

These standards require that an organisation hire qualified, professional staff and have adequate staffing levels. Organisations must have a culture that promotes safety and inclusion. This will foster a relationship built on trust and respect.

Personal care and clinical care

The aged care quality standard recognises the needs of consumers and the community for safe, high-quality care. Personal care services can involve supervision of personal hygiene, assistance with dressing, or specialised therapy. The participant should also feel that the service promotes their individuality. 

In addition, it is essential to ensure that the organisation runs effectively. The organisation should have a culture that values consumer input and support and has an effective risk management and practice system. Aged care providers must also be committed to implementing the clinical governance framework. The standards apply to both personal and clinical care.

Looking for Qualified Aged Care Consultants in Australia?

If you want to grow your business, you need to collaborate with people who know your business. Fronto Advisory has a team of qualified aged care consultants and will help you save time, avoid critical mistakes and accelerate your growth. They deliver extensive and practical experience across each critical area of your business, whether it is brand new or has been around for years.

Call them today or fill out a form and receive a call back.

Related Articles

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Check Also
Back to top button